Governors-Elect To Be Sworn-In


Governors-elect are now expected to take their oath of office from Thursday.

The events will take place in different counties and presided over by 47 judges appointed by the judiciary.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission on Tuesday gazetted 45 governors-elect to be sworn in.

“The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission hereby declares that the persons whose names are listed in the schedule hereunder were, elected as County Governors and Deputy County Governors having received the majority of the votes cast in the election held on 9th August 2022,” Chebukati stated in a gazette notice.

The governors include; Anne Waiguru, Kirinyaga county, Fatuma Achani (Kwale), Joshua Irungu (Laikipia) Benjamin Cheboi (Baringo), Hillary Barchok (Bomet), Wesley Rotich (Elgeyo Marakwet), Cecily Mbarire (Embu), Eric Mutai (Kericho), Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu), Jonathan Bii (Uasin Gishu), Jeremiah Lomorukai,(Turkana) Gladys Wanga,(Homa Bay) Andrew Mwadime(Taita Taveta).

Kakamega and Mombasa counties are set to elect their governors on 29th August following an agreement reached in a consultative meeting between IEBC and the candidates.

According to the law, newly elected governors are to be sworn in 10 days after the election. 

The oath takes place not earlier than 10.00 am and not later than 2.00 pm in a public ceremony before a High Court Judge.

The swearing-in of governors cannot be stopped by a court petition like the president-elect who awaits the court judgment before assuming office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here