IEBC Chairman To Meet Presidential Aspirants


Independent, Electoral and Boundaries Commission chairman, Wafula Chebukati has invited all presidential aspirants for a meeting on 29th, June 2022.

IEBC cleared four presidential hopefuls in the August 9th general elections; William Ruto of the Kenya Kwanza Alliance, Raila Odinga of the Azimio One Kenya Coalition, Wahiga Mwaure of the Agano party, and George Wajackoya of the Roots Party.

The meeting is set to take place at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, Nairobi with the main focus being a discussion on the printed register of voters, election results, and campaign schedules for Presidential Candidates.

In a letter to the candidates, the IEBC boss requested the candidates not to be accompanied to the meeting by more than five people.

Chebukati’s request to meet the candidates comes days after the publication of the voter’s register that will be used in the upcoming general election.

According to the IEBC voter register, the Rift valley region with 14 counties has a total number of 5.34 million voters, central with 14 counties has 3.1 million voters, and Nairobi county with 2.41 million voters.

The Coast region with 6 counties has a total of 1.96 million voters, and Ukambani with 3 counties has 1.69 million voters.

The upper easter region comprising the Meru area, Marsabit, Isiolo, and Embu counties has a total of 1.59 million voters majority of them in the Mt. Kenya region.

Nakuru County has 1.05 million voters while Kakamega has 844,000 voters. Meru County has a final voter number of 772,000 while Machakos has 687,000 registered voters.

Narok County has 398,000 voters, and 463,000 in Kajiado, while Trans Nzoia has 398,000 voters. Garissa County has 201,000 voters, while Wajir County has 207,000 voters. Turkana County has 238,000 voters.

The commission maintains that manual registers will not be used.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here