Mediation committee on County Government Grants Bill Appointed


A mediation committee to deliberate on the controversial County Governments Grants Bill, has been appointed by the speakers of the parliament, as by Senate Bill No. 35 of 2021.

The Mediation Committee comprises of Senator Charles Kibiru, Senator Moses Wetangula, EGH, Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior, Senator Rose Nyamunga, Senator Farhiya Ali, Kanini Kega MP, Dr Kanyuithia Mutunga MP, Naisula Lesuuda MP, Millie Odhiambo MP and Dr Makali Mula MP.

The committee was appointed after the senate rejected the National Assemblies Amendment to the Bill, during the December 21st sitting.

Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi said that, the National Assembly had made amendments to the Title of the Bill, Clause 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, First and Second Schedules and forwarded it to the Senate for consideration, the Senate thereafter, rejected the amendments and a mediation team had to be appointed.

The mediation team comprises an equal number of Members from both the Senate and the National Assembly as required by the constitution of Kenya, they have to agree on the bill for consideration by the two houses.

The County Government Grants Bill mainly seeks to provide for the allocation of conditional grants to County governments for the financial year 2021/2022 and to provide for the responsibilities of County governments pursuant to such allocations amongst other purposes.

Cheboi has urged Members of the committee to take the mediation process seriously within 30 days where they will commence with the meetings to look at the new version of the mediated bill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here