Kenya Unveils Its EALA Nominees


The search for new East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) members from the Kenyan delegation started on October 26, as those who are currently in office are set to exit on December 17, 2022.

This has seen political parties in Kenya reveal their list of nominees to the EALA.

EALA is an independent legislative arm of EAC that was established under article nine of the Treaty for the establishment of the East African Community. It plays a vital role in the implementation of EAC objectives.

The ODM party unveiled its nominees – who will be considered for election to EALA- through the Selection Committee overseen by Deputy Leader Wycliffe Oparanya on Tuesday.

The candidates are Winnie Odinga, daughter of ODM Party Leader Raila Odinga, Suleiman Shahbal, former contestant for Mombasa Governor, Mohammed Diriye, Timothy Bosire, Beatrice Askul and Justus Kizito.

Likewise, the Kenya Kwanza Alliance Coalition has revealed its list of EALA nominees. The 15 member nominee list includes senator David Sankok,  Hassan Omar who lost the Mombasa Governorship this year, Salim Busidy, Yasser Bajaber, Lilian Tomotom, Jonas Kuko, Cyprian Iringo, Abdikadir Aden and Falhadha Iman.

Others include Joel Nyambane, Godfrey Karobia, Zipporah Kering and Fredrick Charles.

In November the joint National Assembly and Senate Committee on EALA members nomination, stated that it had received 287 applications but they will be shortlisted before the House casts their votes on November 17.

Independent candidates are expected to submit their application by Wednesday November 9.

Meanwhile, former Baringo senator and KANU party chairman Gideon Moi has withdrawn his candidacy in the EALA MP contest.

In a statement issued by KANU secretary of politic affairs Fredrick Okango, said Moi quit the race to allow other candidates an opportunity to win the positions.

The KANU chair had been nominated by his party to the EALA position alongside the party’s secretary general Nick Salat.

He appreciated his party and the Azimio La Umoja OneKenya Coalition for the chance and the trust.

Only nine slots are available for Kenya’s delegation at the EALA. MPs will vote through a secret ballot and announce the winners who have garnered the most votes.

Members hold office for a five year term and are eligible for re-election for another period of five years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here