- Advertisement -spot_img
HomeSportsArgentina Takes World Cup Home

Argentina Takes World Cup Home

- Advertisement -spot_img

Lionel Messi led Argentina to an amazing World Cup victory by beating France 4-2 on penalties after a 3-3 draw over 120 minutes.

The historic game played in Lusail Stadium saw France back in the game during the second half as Kylian Mbappe scored twice to equalize and force extra time which eventually ended with penalties.

Messi and Mbappe both made headlines, with Messi scoring twice and Mbappe becoming the first player since England’s Geoff Hurst in 1966 to net a World Cup final hat-trick.

It is the second time in five World Cups that France have lost the final on penalties after they were beaten by Italy in 2006.

Argentina are now champions for the first time since 1986.

The 35-year-old Messi said he wants to continue playing for Argentina after world cup.

“I enjoy being in the national team, the group, I want to continue living a few more games being world champion,” he said.

Argentina head coach Lionel Scaloni said the 35-year-old star can stay and play for Argentina as long as he wishes.

“First of all, we need to save him a spot for the next World Cup in 2026 if he wants to keep playing. If he wants to keep playing, he’ll be with us,” said Scaloni.

World Cup Prizes

Argentina’s victory in the world cup did not just give them the iconic trophy, they left the pitch with a whooping $440 million.

That was an increase of $40m compared to the 2018 tournament, and just $358m in prize money was on offer at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil. 

The players will be getting the money according to how the soccer federation will decide. Other team prizes include; runner-up (France): $30 million, third place: (Croatia) $27 million, and fourth place: (Morocco) $25 million.

The 5th-8th place (Netherlands, Brazil, Portugal and England) will get $17 million each.

The next World Cup will be held in the United States, Mexico and Canada in 2026.

It will be the first time that the event has been held across three countries, and only the second time the United States will play host while Mexico will set a new record by hosting the championship event for the third time.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Stay Connected
Must Read
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here