Mwangi Kiunjuri Fired as President Uhuru Kenyatta Reshuffles Cabinet

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday 14th January, 2020 announced the changes in his new cabinet. In his public address at state house lodge in Mombasa, he reshuffled some cabinet secretaries and dropped Mwangi Kiunjuri as Agriculture Cabinet Secretary.

The Head of State reassigned Rachel Omamo to Foreign Affairs while Monica Juma takes over the Defense docket. Mutahi Kagwe has also been picked as the new Health CS while Betty Maina takes over the Industrialization docket. Peter Munya has been appointed as the new Agriculture CS whereas Sicily Kariuki appointed to head the Water ministry. Ukur Yatani moves to the Ministry of Finance as Simon Chelugui officially becomes Labour CS.

The Cabinet Secretaries who have retained their positions include:

  • Dr. Fred Matiang’i (Interior)
  • Adan Mohammed (East African Community and Northern Corridor Development)
  • Amina Mohammed (Sports, Culture and Heritage)
  • Charles Keter (Energy)
  • Eugene Wamalwa (Devolution)
  • James Macharia (Transport)
  • Joe Mucheru (ICT)
  • Najib Balala  (Tourism)
  • Prof. George Magoha (Education)
  • Farida Karoney (Lands)
  • Keriako Tobiko (Environment)
  • John Munyes (Petroleum and Mining)
  • Margaret Kobia (Public Service)

By: Linzer Kibebe

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top